Ten Bands to Beat the Blues

I, as you know, love music.  I love complex music, challenging music, hardcore music, moving music…but do you know what I like best of all?  Fun music.  Music has an unparalleled ability to stir up your emotions, and I don’t see any reason why they shouldn’t be happy emotions.  Here, therefore, are my ten favorite bands to queue up when I’m feeling down.

10.  The Beatles

The very existence of the Beatles tends to stymie attempts to make lists like these because they would naturally always end up at the top, so I’m just getting them out of the way right off the bat.  The Beatles song that never ceases to perk me up is “Obladi Oblada.”  Here it is performed by the Muppets.

9.  The LazyTown Soundtrack

I don’t want this to be a list of novelty acts, but LazyTown was created to make you get up and move, and boy, does it ever.  Galaxy is just one of its dozens of catchy, upbeat tunes.  If you’re too old for Icelandic children’s TV shows, you’re too old, I say.

8. The Dropkick Murphys

Anyone who’s talked to me recently is probably aware of my newfound love of the Dropkick Murphys’ brand of bawdy Celtic punk.  For days when getting drunk and forgetting everything seems like the best solution…well, the Irish have been doing it for ages, and they’ve been enjoying it.

7.  The Hollies

Since both my speakers and my iPod drop channels, I have been sadly deprived of this stereo-loving band.  The Hollies have been scientifically proven to directly stimulate the nostalgia centers of your brain and make you long for a simpler time that probably never was.

6.  Weezer

Weezer is still a big act after 20 years, proof that the urge to chill runs deep in the human species, and if the video for Island in the Sun doesn’t give you the warm fuzzies, you don’t have a heart.

5.  India.Arie

On the soft end of the spectrum, there’s India.Arie, the perfect strain of acoustic soul to remind you that everything is going to be okay.  Go ahead–paint some flowers onto a guitar, stand in front of a mirror, and tell yourself “I look good.”

4.  Hot Chelle Rae

I’m going to get all the music snobs crawling out of the woodwork for this one, but when I’m feeling blah, this is the video I queue up.  This is a band that makes you feel like you could jump into the middle of the dance floor.  If 2:33 can’t cure your blues, nothing will.

3.  Fleetwood Mac

DON’T!  STOP!  THINKING ABOUT TOMOOORROOOOOWWW!

2.  Parry Gripp

Corny?  Yes.  Silly?  Yes.  Parry Gripp appeals to the simple side of our nature, the side that likes bunnies and turtles and hamsters on pianos eating popcorn.

1.  Cake

Ah, Cake.  Nobody does it like Cake, and I mean nobody.  Their infectious melodies and playful lyrics combine into a perfect formula for fun.  They are a band I absolutely can’t hear without singing along.  And sometimes their videos are complete non sequiturs.

There.  You should now feel at least 200% happier.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

